menu top

Diamond electrodes

In electrochemical technics as amperometry or impedancemtry, it is necessary to get solid electrodes. Usually, gold or platinium electrodes are used, even carbon (graphite or vitrous). METEMIS uses the last generation of electrodes: diamond electrodes.

The diamond used for this electrode is the same one as for jewellery, except that it is few nanometer thick. It gives it the ability to be very chemical resistant to chemical products (acide, base, solvants), to be very mechanical resistant and to handle high temperature.

Above all its natural qualities, it does not disturb the environment (chemically neutral) and allows a wide electrochemical window (twice of gold or platinium electrodes): it is much more insensitive to interferences and offers the opportunity to detect and measure other ions or molecules that were not possible with the standard electrodes.

menu top

Electrode diamant

Dans les techniques électrochimiques de type ampérométrie ou impédancemétrie, il est nécessaire d’avoir des électrodes solides. Classiquement, on utilise des électrodes en or ou platine, voir même en carbone (graphite ou vitreux). METEMIS utilise la dernière génération d’électrode: les électrodes diamant.

Le diamant utilisé pour cette électrode est le même que pour les bijouteries à la différence près que son épaisseur de seulement quelques dizaines de nanomètres. Cela lui donne la capacité de résister aux produits chimiques (acides, bases, solvants), d’être très résistant mécaniquement et de pouvoir fonctionner à haute température.

Au-delà des capacités intrinsèques du diamant, il ne perturbe pas le milieu (chimiquement neutre) et permet d’avoir une gamme (ou fenêtre) de travail électrochimique deux fois plus grande qu’avec l’or ou le platine: cela permet d’être beaucoup moins sensible aux interférents et d’aller chercher des ions ou des molécules que d’autres électrodes ne peuvent pas.